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USDA ANNOUNCES 2002-CROP SUGAR LOAN RATES


WASHINGTON, Sept. 27, 2002 –  The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s  Commodity Credit Corporation (CCC) today announced the loan rates for 2002 crop sugar as part of USDA’s ongoing implementation of the 2002 Farm Bill.  The CCC will offer nonrecourse loans to sugar beet and sugarcane processors as required by the 2002 Farm Bill.  The national loan rates for 2002 crop raw cane sugar will be 18 cents per pound and for refined beet sugar, 22.90 cents per pound, unchanged from last year.  These national loan rates are adjusted for location, reflecting freight differentials. 

Loan Rates for Refined Beet Sugar

The refined beet sugar processing regions and applicable 2002-crop (FY 2003) loan rates are: 








Cents per pound of 

Region 





 refined beet sugar

· Michigan and Ohio
 



23.69

· Minnesota and the eastern half of North Dakota   
22.84

· Northeastern quarter of Colorado, Nebraska and the

southeastern quarter of Wyoming 


23.86

· Montana, northwestern quarter of Wyoming and

the western half of North Dakota 


22.87

· Idaho, Oregon and Washington
 


22.19

· California   





23.56

Loan Rates for Cane Sugar


The FY 2003 raw cane sugar loan rates are:  

 



Cents per pound of

      State 



cane sugar, raw value
· Florida 




17.73 

· Hawaii 



            17.33 

· Louisiana 




18.44 

· Texas




18.11 

· Puerto Rico 



18.33 


The loan rate is 18 cents per pound for any raw cane sugar processed in Hawaii 

and Puerto Rico but it’s pledged as collateral while stored on the U.S. mainland.

-more-
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Sugar beet and sugarcane processors who receive CCC loans in FY 2003 are required to make minimum payments for all sugar beets and sugarcane received from growers.  Processors failing to meet the required minimum grower payment will be ineligible for loans during the subsequent crop year.  Sugar beet grower minimum payments are the amount specified in the grower/processor contract.  Sugarcane producers must pay at least the following payment levels, on the average, to their growers.  A grower's payment level can be adjusted according to the quality adjustment method in the grower/processor contract.

      State



Minimum Payment

· Florida 



$25.00 per net ton

· Hawaii 



$23.39 per net ton

· Louisiana 



$23.98 per gross ton

· Texas 




$21.99 per gross ton

· Puerto Rico 


$14.94 per gross ton
For more information on this program, please contact you local USDA Service Center. 

#

NOTE: Farm Service Agency (FSA) news releases and media advisories are available on the Web at FSA’s home page: http://www.fsa.usda.gov.

