USDA Announces Beef Promotion Board Appointments | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0364.07
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
Jimmie Turner (202) 720-6179

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page



CORRECTED: Updated to correct terms beginning Feb.3, 2008

WASHINGTON, Dec. 6, 2007 -- Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner today announced 39 appointments to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Feb.9, 2008.

Appointed members representing cattle producers by state are: Max Bozeman, Jr., Alabama; Weldon D. Wynn, Arkansas; Manuel Rodrigues, California; Harold A. Wick, Colorado; Sidney L. Sumner, Florida; Dan D. Hinman, Idaho; William R. Frazee, Iowa; Paul L. Kent, Minnesota; Dianne Sites, Missouri; Lawrence J. Switzer, Montana; David C. Schubel, New York; Brian C. Healey and Steve Smola, Oklahoma; Sharon E. Livingston, Oregon; Daniel M. Kniffen, Pennsylvania; Charles L. Ezer and Mary Lou Bradley, Texas; and Warren D. Viergutz, Wisconsin.

Reappointed members representing cattle producers by state or region (unit) are: Virginia K. Coelho, California; David W. Bateman, Illinois; Virginia J. Davis, Indiana; Daniel F. Petersen, Iowa; Glenda J. Flora and Dana R. Hauck, Kansas; Albert W. Pedigo, Kentucky; O.D. Cope, Missouri; Ross D. Garwood and Doris L. Rush, Nebraska; Jeffrey L. Dahl, North Dakota; Neil C. Kayser, Northwest; Franklin J. Phelps, Ohio; Merrill Karlen, Jr., South Dakota; Robert Q. Fountain, Jr., Southeast; Robert D. Fugate, Tennessee; Austin E. Brown III, Richard J. Hodge, and Sharon G. Spenrath, Texas; and Bobby L. Combs, Virginia.

In addition, R. Wayne Buck, Colorado was appointed to complete the term of a producer who recently resigned from the board.

Donald E. Stewart was reappointed to represent importers.

The board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the United States, and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, and industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 104-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The agriculture secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importer certified organizations. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.