Schafer Appoints New Members to the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education, and Economics Advisory Board | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0287.08
Shirley Morgan Jordan (202) 720-6012

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page



WASHINGTON, Nov. 6, 2008 – Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer announced the appointment of six individuals to serve on the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education, and Economics (NAREEE) Advisory Board. This Board advises the Secretary of Agriculture and informs Land-Grant colleges and universities on top national priorities and policies for food and agricultural research, education, extension and economics.

In addition to providing policy guidance to USDA on its Research, Education and Economics (REE) mission area, the Board holds stakeholder listening sessions, and reviews all agricultural research, extension, or education activities conducted or funded by the Department for relevance to national priorities and adequacy of funding. The NAREEE Advisory Board will hold a public meeting on Nov. 12-14, 2008, at the Four Points Sheraton Hotel in Washington, D.C. The meetings are open to the public.

The board is made up of 26 Board members, each of which represents a specific category of U.S. Agricultural stakeholders as outlined in the 2008 Food, Energy, and Conservation Act. Each member serves a 3-year appointment effective October 1, 2008. Terms for members overlap so each year approximately one-third of the Board is replaced and/or reappointed.

New and re-appointed members are:

Category B. Farm Cooperatives: Jean-Mari Peltier, (Reappointment), President, National Grape & Wine Initiative, Sacramento, CA

Category D. Plant Commodity Producer: Terry L. Wolf, Owner, Wolf Farms & Wolf Grain Systems Inc., Homer, IL

Category E. National Aquaculture Association: Lester W. Myers, President/CEO, Indi-Bel, Inc., d/b/a/ Delta Western, Indianola, MS

Category H National Food Science Organization: Dennis R. Heldman, Principal, Heldman Associate, Mason, OH

Category J. National Nutritional Science Society: Marianne Smith Edge, (Reappointment), American Dietetic Association, Owensboro, KY

Category K. 1862 Land-Grant Colleges and Universities: Frederick A. Cholick, Professor, Dean and Director, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS