Schafer Names Members to the National Potato Promotion Board | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0297.08
Jimmie Turner (202) 720-8998
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page



WASHINGTON, Nov. 18, 2008 -- Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer today appointed 31 producer members to serve on the National Potato Promotion Board for terms beginning March 1, 2009, and ending on February 29, 2012.

Reappointed to the board are: Kent Bitter, of Shelley, Idaho; Tom Church, Wilder, Idaho; Nick Cummins of MuAaugh, Idaho; Melanie Ann Likes, Shelley, Idaho; Ronald D. Lockwood, Eden, Idaho; Shane Webster, Rexburg, Idaho; Tim L. Young, Coral, Mich.; Jimmy Harrell, Elizabeth City, N.C.; John Christoffel Probasco, Chesterfield, N.J.; Todd Michael, Urbana, Ohio; and Jeff Urbach, Sherwood, Ore.

Newly appointed to the board are: Roger Christensen of Center, Colo.; Arnold Hubert Mack, Lake Wales, Fla.; Wyatt V. Penfold, Driggs, Idaho; Jared Gehring, American Falls, Idaho; Bryan Wada, Pingree, Idaho; Brett Jensen, Idaho Falls, Idaho; Ryan Wayne Cranney, Oakley, Idaho; Kevin Searle, Shelley, Idaho; Adam C. Culler, Samaria, Mich.; Lonnie Spokely, Nielsville, Minn.; Pete Ewing, Becker, Minn.; Mitch Jorde, Cando, N.D.; Tim May, Imperial, Neb.; John N. Meyer Sr., Cohocton, N.Y.; H. Bruce Richardson Jr., Capeville, Va.; Kathy Blasdel, Kennewick, Wash.; Diana G. Martinez, Royal City, Wash.; Kristopher Charles Butcher, Othello, Wash.; Brad Bailie, Connell, Wash.; and Mike Carter, Schofield, Wis.

The potato board administers an industry-funded national research and promotion program to increase U.S. exports and domestic potato consumption. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the board. More information about the research and promotion programs is at