USDA Names Members to the Mushroom Council | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0067.10
Jimmie Turner (202) 720-8998
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page



WASHINGTON, Feb. 17, 2010 -- Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today appointed three members to serve on the Mushroom Council. They will serve three-year terms beginning immediately and ending on Dec. 31, 2012.

The newly appointed members are: James A. Angelucci of Naples, Fla., and Jim Howard, Cochranville, Pa., Region 2; and Roberto Ramirez, Escondido, Calif., Region 3.

Authorized under the Mushroom Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1990, the Mushroom Council -- composed of fresh market producers or importers who average more than 500,000 pounds of mushrooms annually -- administers a national promotion, research and consumer information program to maintain and expand markets for fresh mushrooms.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the council.

More information about research and promotion programs can be found at


Follow us on Twitter to receive the latest press releases, stories, and important updates about the Agricultural Marketing Service at:!/USDA_AMSThis is an external link or third-party site outside of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) website..

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).