Secretary Vilsack Announces Cattlemen's Beef Board Appointments | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0117.10
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998
Sam Jones-Ellard (202) 720-8998

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page



WASHINGTON, March 10, 2010 - Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced 36 appointments to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning immediately.

"These appointees represent a cross section of the beef industry and I am confident that beef producers and importers of cattle, beef and beef products will be well served by them," said Vilsack.

In 2009, according to USDA statistics, there were an estimated 950,000 farms with cattle representing approximately 93.7 million head of cattle at the beginning of 2010. Top producing states included Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, California and Oklahoma.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: Barbara S. Jackson, Ariz.; Willem Bylsma, Calif.; Darrel C. Sweet, Calif.; Robert W. Buck, Colo.; Jeffrey L. Clausen, Iowa; Dean A. Black, Iowa; Daniel P. Herrmann, Kan.; Larry M. Olten, Kan.; Genevieve D. Lyons, La.; Andrew B. Salinas, Mich.; John C. Schafer, Minn.; David M. McCormick, Miss.; Kevin H. Frankenbach, Mo.; Kristy L. Lage, Neb.; Judith A. Reece, Neb.; Annalyn Settelmeyer, Nev.; Tamara A. Ogilvie, N.M.; Ernest B. Harris, N.C; Thomas A. Woods, Okla.; James C. Kesler, S.C.; Danni K. Beer, S.D.; Linda J. Gilbert, S.D.; Robert J. Reviere, Jr., Tenn.; Larry B. Pratt, Texas; Andrea W. Reed, Texas; D. Rudolph Tate, Texas; Bruce D. Dopslauf, Texas; Laurie L. Munns, Utah; Jane E. Clifford, Vt.; Larry D. Echols, W.VA; Martin A. Andersen, Wis.; Randall A. Geiger, Wis.; and Spencer A. Ellis, Wyo.

Newly appointed members representing importers are: Alberto J. Senosiain, Fla.; Andrew Banchi, Penn.; and Scott A. Hansen, Va.

The Board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the United States, and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the Board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 106-member Board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the Board.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).