Vilsack Names Members and Alternates to American Egg Board | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0118.10
Hakim Fobia (202)690-0488
Billy Cox (202)720-8998

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page



WASHINGTON, March 10, 2010 -- Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced nine members and nine alternates to the American Egg Board for the 2010-2011 term. All members and alternates will serve 2-year terms.

Authorized by the Egg Research and Consumer Information Act of 1974, the board is responsible for developing a program of research, producer and consumer education, and promotion designed to improve, maintain, and develop markets for eggs and egg products. The program is funded entirely by a 10-cent per 30-dozen case assessment on eggs marketed by producers with flocks of over 75,000 hens. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operations of the board.

The board is composed of 18 members and 18 alternates representing six regions. The Secretary of Agriculture selects appointees from egg producers nominated by organizations representing the egg industry.

Reappointed members and alternates, by region, are:

South Atlantic states - Richard L. Simpson, Monroe, N. C., member; K. Jacques Klempf, Jacksonville, Fla., alternate.

East North Central states - Gregory S. Herbruck, Saranac, Mich., member

South Central states - Timothy J. Bebee, Wakefield, Neb., member, Richard R. Hall, Massena, Iowa, alternate; Gregory B. Nelson, Manhattan, Kan., alternate.

Western states - Craig A Willardson, Norco, Calif., member; Roger D. Deffner, Everett, Wash., member; Clint L. Hickman, Buckeye, Ariz., alternate;

Newly appointed members and alternates, by region, are:

North Atlantic states - Paul D. Sauder, Lititz, Pa., member; Karyn M. Kreher, Clarence, N.Y., alternate.

South Atlantic states - Larry R. Thomason, Calhoun, Ga., member; Ronald S. Braswell, Nashville, N.C., alternate.

East North Central states - Thomas A. Stoller, Van Wert, Ohio, alternate.

West North Central states - Scott T. Ramsdell, Flandreau, S.D., member; Amos Baer, Lake Park, Minn., alternate.

South Central states - Brian V. Joyer, New Hampton, Iowa, member.

Western states - Mark G. Oldenkamp, Woodburn, Ore., alternate.

Membership terms on the board are staggered so that half of the membership is appointed each year in order to provide continuity in policy.

USDA's programs are open to all individuals without regard to race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or familial status. USDA especially urges women, minorities, and disabled individuals to participate, recognizing their frequent under-representation on such public boards. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the programs.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Right, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or

(202) 720-6382 (TDD)