Vilsack Announces National Dairy Board Appointments | USDA Newsroom
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected

This is an archive page. The links are no longer being updated.

News Release

Release No. 0125.10
Becky Unkenholz (202) 720-8998
Billy Cox (202)720-8998

 Printable version
Email this page Email this page


Vilsack Announces National Dairy Board Appointments

WASHINGTON, March 12, 2010 - Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced the appointment of 12 members to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning immediately.

"These appointees represent a cross section of the dairy industry and I am confident that dairy producers will be well served by them," said Vilsack.

Dairy production is vital to the United States agriculture industry. In 2008, according to USDA statistics, 190 billion pounds of milk were produced in the United States. The 36-member board is authorized by the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983. The Secretary selected the appointees from nominations submitted by eligible producer organizations, general farm organizations, and qualified State or regional dairy products promotion, research or nutrition education programs.

The board's goal is to strengthen the position of dairy in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for dairy and dairy products. The mandatory program is funded at the rate of 15 cents per hundredweight of milk produced in the 48 contiguous States and marketed commercially. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight of the board.

Newly appointed are: George E. Marsh, Oregon (Region 1); Ray S. Prock, California (Region 2); Arlene J. Vander Eyk, California (Region 2); Brian W. Esplin, Idaho (Region 3); Neil A. Hoff, Texas (Region 4); Paul A. Fritsche, Minnesota (Region 5); Patricia M. Boettcher, Wisconsin (Region 6); Mark E. Erdman, Illinois (Region7); Susan D. K. Troyer, Indiana (Region 9); and Ronald R. McCormick, New York (Region 12).

Reappointed to serve second terms were: Randy G. Roecker, Wisconsin (Region 6); and Rita P. Kennedy, Pennsylvania (Region 11).


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice), or (202) 720-6382 (TDD).