About the Office of the Chief Scientist | USDA
USDA In Facebook USDA In Twitter Google+ USDA Blog USDA In Youtube USDA govdelivery USDA In Flickr USDA RSS
Stay Connected
About the Office of the Chief Scientist

The Office of the Chief Scientist (OCS) provides leadership and coordination to ensure that research supported by, and scientific advice provided to the Department and external stakeholders is held to the highest standards of intellectual rigor and scientific integrity.

The OCS strives to inform policy and programmatic decisions within the Department by providing the best available scientific advice and input; establishing appropriate linkages between the USDA and other science-performing organizations in government (U.S. and abroad), academia, and industry; and ensuring the dissemination of science performed by the Department to policy makers and decision leaders across the spectrum of policy making nationally and internationally.


Catherine Woteki, USDA Chief Scientist/Under Secretary for REE Mission Area

Kim Green, Director of the Office of the Chief Scientist

Senior Staff

Jaime Adams, Senior Advisor for International Affairs

Douglas Bannerman, Departmental Scientific Integrity Officer

Elizabeth Dann, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Officer

Richard Derksen, Science Coordinator

Senior Advisors

Neena Anandaraman, Senior Advisor for Animal Health Production and Products

Skip Hyberg, Senior Advisor for Agricultural Economics and Natural Resources

Valerie Reed, Senior Advisor for Bioenergy

James E. Rogers, Senior Advisor for Food Safety

Mary Scruggs, Senior Advisor for Water Resources

Ann Marie Thro, Senior Advisor for Plant Health & Production and Plant Products

Yibo Wood, Senior Nutritionist and Global Initiative Coordinator


Samuel Crowell, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science and Technology Policy Fellow

Michelle Landes, Agriculture Science Fellow

Elizabeth Stulberg, Agricultural Science Fellow