Skip to main content

USDA Announces National Mango Board Appointments

WASHINGTON, Dec. 27, 2017 - Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of six members to serve three-year terms on the National Mango Board.

Newly appointed are:

  • Thomas Hall, Pico Rivera, Calif. (Importer)
  • Jerry Garcia, Sr., Encino, Texas (Importer)
  • Stuart Johnson, Hilo, Hawaii (Domestic Producer)
  • Carlos R. Palafox A., Jalisco, Mexico (Foreign Producer)
  • Cesar Morocho Marchan, Piura, Peru (Foreign Producer)

Reappointed is importer Jo Jo Shiba, of Hidalgo, Texas.

“I truly appreciate the time and expertise that these individuals have agreed to give guiding the National Mango Board in its mission to find ways to provide fresh mangos to U.S. consumers and help their industry thrive,” Perdue said.

The National Mango Board is composed of 18 members, including eight importers, two domestic producers, one first handler; and seven foreign producers. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities.  The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders. 

More information about the board is available on the National Mango Board page on the AMS website and on the National Mango Board website.