Skip to main content

Disaster Designations under the Amended Rule

The streamlined disaster designation process with lower emergency loan rates and greater CRP flexibility in disaster areas will help producers suffering effects of extreme weather. The Secretary of Agriculture is authorized to designate disaster counties to make disaster assistance programs available to farmers and ranchers. A natural disaster designation makes all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency loans.

Map shows designations across the country under USDA's amended rule. The faster, more efficient process will immediately expand assistance to more than 1,000 counties in 26 counties (Clicking on map opens a PDF of larger map).

View the current Drought Disaster Designations Map (PDF, 1.2 MB)

2012 Secretarial Designations Map

Read the Press Release: USDA announces Streamlined Disaster Designation Process with Lower Emergency Loan Rates and Greater CRP Flexibility in Disaster Areas