Skip to main content

USDA Announces Mushroom Council Appointments

WASHINGTON, Dec. 6, 2017 - Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of three members to serve on the Mushroom Council. The members appointed to serve three year terms are:

  • Curtis C. Jurgensmeyer, Miami, Okla. (Region 1)
  • Joe W. Caldwell, Reading, Pa. (Region 2)
  • Jane Irene Rhyno, Ontario, Canada (Region 4)

“The Mushroom Council is effectively working to expand markets and create new ways for customers to use mushrooms,” said Perdue. “These appointees have a deep understanding of the mushroom industry and I know that this agricultural sector will be well served by them.”

The Mushroom Council is composed of eight domestic growers and one importer. The nine members are allocated to four regions as follows:

  • Two growers represent Region 1, (all states other than California and Pennsylvania),
  • Four growers represent Region 2 (Pennsylvania),
  • Two growers represent Region 3 (California), and
  • One importer represents Region 4.

The mushroom research and promotion program was established under the authority of the Mushroom Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1990. Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders.

A roster of members is available on the Mushroom Council page on the AMS website. You may also find more information on the Mushroom Council website.


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.