Skip to main content

U.S. Department of Agriculture Announces Key Staff

WASHINGTON, August 10, 2021 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the names of individuals who will hold key staff positions in Washington, D.C.

John Rapp was named Director of the Office of Budget and Program Analysis. Previously, he held the role in an acting capacity while simultaneously serving as the Budget Officer, Chief Risk Officer, Chief Evaluation Office, and Performance Improvement Officer. Prior to being named in the acting role, Rapp served as the director of Strategic Planning, Budget and Accountability for the Forest Service. He also served as the Assistant Director for Formulation, Performance, and Strategic Planning and, before that, as the Performance Management Branch Chief. Prior to his career with the Forest Service, John spent almost 10 years with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration in various roles and three years with the State of Louisiana. John holds a Master of Science degree in Forested Wetland Ecology from North Carolina State University and a Bachelor of Science degree in Forest Science from the Pennsylvania State University.

Brooke Jamison was appointed Associate Administrator of the Foreign Agricultural Service. She has spent the past twenty-three years working on agriculture and international development policy for government, non-profit and private entities. As a Congressional staffer, Jamison handled agriculture and trade policy for two Senators and a Member of Congress as well as managing a legislative team for Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York for over 14 years. She has also coordinated USAID projects in numerous countries. Jamison earned a Master of Science in Control of Infectious Diseases from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and a BA in International Relations from Tufts University.

Regina Black was appointed Chief of Staff for Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs. Most recently, she was the Director of the Executive Office at the US Dairy Export Council. Black served in the Obama Administration at USDA in various roles, including Special Assistant to the Deputy Secretary and Acting Deputy Chief of Staff for the Foreign Agricultural Service. Black has her bachelor’s degree from The Ohio State University and a master’s degree in International Relations and Economics from Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies.

Caryn Compton was appointed Chief of Staff for Rural Utilities Services. Most recently, she served as the Chief of Staff for Senator Bernie Sanders of Vermont. Compton has over 15 years of public service experience and has held senior roles in Congress, including Staff Director of the Senate Budget Committee, Legislative Director to Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, and Legislative Counsel to Senator Robert C. Byrd. Additionally, she served in the Obama-Biden Administration as a Legislative Analyst in the Office of Management and Budget. Compton holds a Bachelor of Arts from Marshall University, a Master of Arts from the University of Arizona, and a Juris Doctor from The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law.

Mia Mayberry was appointed Deputy Director of Intergovernmental Affairs in the Office of Congressional Relations. Mayberry most recently served as the Director of Outreach for U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar. Prior to her time in the Senate, Mayberry served as the Deputy National Political Director for Senator Klobuchar’s presidential campaign, and the Iowa Deputy Political Director for Vice President Kamala Harris’ presidential campaign. Previously, Mayberry served as the Vice Chairwoman and County Supervisor on the Rock Island County Board of Supervisors, and additionally worked as an attorney, practicing in the employment law field. Mayberry holds a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Northeastern University and a Juris Doctor from Valparaiso University School of Law. She is a proud native of Rock Island, Illinois.

Dr. Marty Matlock will serve as Senior Advisor for Food Systems Resiliency with Marketing and Regulatory Programs. He was founding Executive Director of the University of Arkansas Resiliency Center and Professor in the Biological and Agricultural Engineering Department. Dr. Matlock is the recipient of the 2018 CAST-Borlaug Agriculture Communications Award and served on the USEPA Science Advisory Committee for Agriculture as well as the USDA Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture. He received his Ph.D. in Biosystems Engineering, Master of Science in Botany, and Bachelor of Science in Agronomy from Oklahoma State University. Dr. Matlock is a member of the Cherokee Nation and served as Chairman of the Cherokee Nation Environmental Protection Commission for the past 16 years.

“USDA continues to add talented individuals to our growing team, and this outstanding slate of leaders is no exception,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “They each will play an essential role in ensuring all aspects of the Department continue to function at the highest levels and that we are able to effectively serve all Americans.”


USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.