Skip to main content

Commission Members

Federal Co-Chairs



Department of Agriculture

Secretary Thomas Vilsack

Department of Homeland Security/Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

Administrator Deanne Criswell

Department of Interior

Secretary Deb Haaland

Federal Members




Bureau of Indian Affairs

Johnna Blackhair

Deputy Director

Bureau of Land Management

Mike Nedd

Deputy Director Ops

Environmental Protection Agency

Erika Sasser

Director, Health and Environmental Impacts Division, Office of Air and Radiation

FEMA- Mitigation Framework Leadership Group (MitFLG)

Angela Gladwell


Hermit’s Peak/Calf Canyon Claims Office, Mitigation Framework Leadership

FEMA- Recovery Support Function Leadership Group (RSFLG)

Robert M. Pesapane

Director, Public Assistance Division, Recovery Directorate

National Park Service

Jennifer Flynn

Associate Director

Visitor and Resource Protection

National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG)

Aitor Bidaburu

Executive Board Vice Chair

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Cynthia Martinez

Chief National Wildlife Refuge System

US Forest Service

Jaelith Hall-Rivera

Deputy Chief, State and Private Forestry

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Joannie Chin

Director, Engineering Laboratory

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Robyn Heffernan

National Fire Weather Services Senior Advisor

Non-Federal Members


Name, Title, State (Primary Member)

Name, Title, State (Alternate Member)

  1. State Hazard Mitigation

Kathy Holder, Utah State Hazard Mitigation Officer, UT

Tim Cook, Washington State Hazard Mitigation Officer, WA

  1. State Department of Natural Resources, Forestry, or Agriculture, or similar State agency

Kacey KC, Nevada State Forester and Vice President of the National Association of State Foresters, NV

Dan Gibbs, Executive Director of the Colorado Department of Natural Resources, CO

  1. State Department of Energy or similar State agency

Elizabeth (Eli) King, Washington State Energy Emergency Management Director, WA

David Fogerson, Nevada Emergency Manager and Homeland Security Chief, NV

  1. County Government Representative


Lucinda Andreani, Deputy County Manager, Coconino County, AZ

William (Bill) Cox, Rich County Commissioner, UT

  1. Municipal Government Representative

Kathleen (Kat) McIntyre, PhD, Environmental Improvement Department Manager, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, CA

Neil Chapman, Captain, Flagstaff Fire Department, AZ

  1. Public Utilities Industry

Madelene McDonald, Senior Watershed Scientist, Denver Water, CO

Andy Fecko, General Manager, Placer County Water Agency, CA

  1. Property Development Industry

David Sampson, CEO of the American Property Casualty Insurance Association, TX

Michele Steinberg, Wildfire Division Director, National Fire Protection Association, MA

  1. Tribal Government Representative

Bill Tripp, Director of Natural Resources and Environmental Policy, Karuk Tribe, CA

Gary Jackson, Tribal Vice-Chairman, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians, OR

  1. Wildland Firefighter

Kelly Martin, Co-Founder and Executive Board of Directors, Grassroots Wildland Firefighters, ID

Nathan Miller, Wildland Superintendent for the City of Santa Fe Fire Department, NM

  1. 501(c) 3 organization with expertise in forest management and environmental conservation

Marek Smith, North America Fire Director for The Nature Conservancy, NC

Scott Miller, Senior Regional Director, Southwest, The Wilderness Society, CO

  1. Forestry/Industry Representative

Cody Desautel, Natural Resource Director, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, WA

John O’Keeffe, Rancher and past President of Oregon Cattlemen’s Association, OR

  1. Science (social and ecological)

Kimiko Barrett, PhD Senior wildfire researcher and policy analyst, Headwaters Economics, MT

Scott Stephens, PhD, Professor of Fire Science, University of California, Berkeley, CA

  1. Innovation

Jessica Morse, Former Deputy Secretary for Forest and Wildland Resilience, California Natural Resources Agency, CA

Ann Bartuska, PhD, Senior Contributing Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund and Senior Advisor, Resources for the Future, Washington DC

  1. Prescribed Fire

John Weir, Associate Extension Specialist, Natural Resource Ecology and Management, Oklahoma State University, OK

Craig Thomas, Director, The Fire Restoration Group, CA

  1. Forest Stewardship and Reforestation

Sam Cook, Executive Director of Forest Assets & Vice President, NC State University Natural Resources Foundation, NC

Brian Kittler, Senior Director of Forest Restoration, American Forests, OR

  1. Health Equity

Jamiah Adams, Senior Vice President of Diversity and Justice, The Climate Reality Project, CA

Kari Nadeau, MD/PhD, Director of the Sean N. Parker Center of Allergy and Asthma Research, Stanford University, CA

  1. National Wildland Fire Cohesive Strategy

Jim Hubbard, retiree, USDA NRE Under Secretary/US Forest Service Deputy Chief, CO

Bob Roper, Senior Policy Advisor, Western Fire Chiefs Association, CA

  1. State Fire Response

Mariana Ruiz-Temple, Oregon State Fire Marshal, OR

Mike Morgan, Division Director, Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control, CO