Skip to main content

Advisory Committees

Tribal Advisory Committee (TAC)

The Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 requires that the Secretary establish and maintain a Tribal Advisory Committee to provide advice and guidance on tribal and Indian affairs. The role of the Committee is to facilitate and not supplant government-to-government consultation. Only Indian tribes and tribal organizations as defined by 25 U.S.C. 5304 and national or regional organizations with expertise in food and agriculture can submit nominations for candidates to serve on the Committee.

Tribal Advisory Committee Charter (PDF, 228 KB) (filed 07/13/2023)

Tribal Advisory Committee Agenda (PDF, 187 KB)

Under the authorizing statute, Tribal Advisory Committee members are appointed by the following officials in their respective roles:

Chairman Thompson, House Committee on Agriculture
  • Trenton Kissee, Director of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Muscogee (Creek) Nation (Eastern Oklahoma Region)
  • David Pourier, Tribal Council, Oglala Sioux Tribe (Great Plains Region)
Ranking Member Scott, House Committee on Agriculture
  • Charles “Monty” Roessel, President, Dine College (Navajo Region)
  • Kelsey Scott, Chief Operating Officer, Intertribal Agriculture Council (Great Plains Region)
Chairman Stabenow, Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry
  • Whitney Gravelle, President, Bay Mills Indian Community (Midwest Region)
Ranking Member Boozman, Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry
  • Whitney Sawney, Director of Communications and Policy, Native American Agriculture Fund (Eastern Region)
Chairman Schatz, Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
  • Glenn Teves, County Extension, University of Hawai’i (Hawai’i Region)
Ranking Member Murkowski, Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
  • Karen Linnell, Executive Director, Ahtna Intertribal Resource Commission (Alaska Region)
Secretary Vilsack, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Meagen Baldy, Food Safety Specialist, Indigenous Food and Agriculture Initiative (Pacific Region)
  • William “Billy” Barquin, Attorney General, Kootenai Tribe of Idaho (Pacific Northwest Region)
  • Benjamin “Ben” Jacobs, Co-founder/President, Tocabe Restaurant and Indigenous Foods Marketplace (Southwest Region)

Committee Meetings

May 29-30, 2024 (Hybrid: D.C./Virtual)

USDA Headquarters (Washington, D.C.) and Zoom

May 29, 2024
Committee Meeting: 9:00-5:00pm ET / 3:00-11:00am HT
Public Comment Period: 3:00-4:00pm ET /  9:00-10:00am HT

May 30, 2024
Committee Meeting: 9:00-12:00pm ET / 3:00-6:00am HT

Registration Required:

In-Person (Deadline: 5/22)
Zoom (Deadline: 5/22)

February 23, 2024 (Virtual)

Committee Meeting: 12:00-7:00pm ET / 7:00-2:00pm HT
Public Comment Period: 6:00-7:00pm ET / 1:00-2:00pm HT
Registration Link

Council for Native American Farming and Ranching (CNAFR)

The United States Department of Agriculture's Council for Native American Farming and Ranching (CNAFR) was established as part of the Keepseagle settlement and is pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C. App. 2. to advise the Secretary on ways to eliminate barriers to participation for Native American Farmers and Ranchers in USDA programs. The CNAFR term ended with the June 2018 meeting and sunset.

Sign up for OTR news